Go Back   The Finance Forums > General Forums > General Chat

General Chat General chat and discussion away from the finance topics.

Old 02-08-2009, 04:08 PM

Default what else am i good for?

i work in a supervisory capacity for a media content provider. i do not carry the title "stupidvisor" however.

i have 22 years customer service experience in many fields, but about 15 is restaurant related from bartender to managing partner, and the rest is telecom related. in that time i have won sales awards, productivity awards and performance rewards, but i am in a position which is horribly underpaid and over stressed

so now my company is trying to jam me up on "corrective action" [our version of getting into work related trouble.] i took a cpl of days off that i had available in my personal and sick time accounts. they [HR] are calling it a pattern and i must submit to a 6 month censorship [no promotions, lateral moves, shift changes...anything]. so now they took a over achiever and made me into a disgruntled employee overnight.

im tired of the customer service grind. people, in general, are not personally responsible for their own actions and blame everyone except themselves. this is my version of saying "people suck" without coming off as anti-social.

so what else can i do? my education died when my ex-wife got pregnant, so im stuck with 4 years of credits that dont/cant/wont combine into a bachelors degree. my education benefit at work is 2500 a year if i prepay. i cant buy books for 2500 a year. im exaggerating, but not by much. i work 10 hours a day, so energy levels for going back to school are low, even if i had the money to go back.

so, bottom line, it is what it is. what else can i do? with unemployment so high nationwide [usa], people are suggesting i should be happy to have a job. my suggestion is that there has got to be more to life than this.

Old Sponsors
Old 02-25-2009, 05:43 AM
The Finance Forums

Default Re: what else am i good for?

Quote: