Go Back   The Finance Forums > Finance forums > Debt

Debt Discussions about debt and how to deal with debt.

Old 02-08-2007, 03:36 AM

Default Need serious help concerning bankruptcy

Hello everyone,

I am new here. I live in Canada and I am a university student (ironically, a Major in Finance). So here is the scenario: I am drowned deep in debt with no way out. I have had these credit cards since 2002. Here is what I owe as of now:

VISA (Bank 1): $4440 (credit limit $4000)
VISA (Bank 2): $1550 (credit limit $1500)
VISA (Bank 3): $4900 (credit limit $4000)
Student Loan: $5000
Parents and others: $12,000 (I worry about this part the least)

That's almost $30,000 in debt and I am not even working. But here is the most serious part:

Each month I am being charged heavy interests and over-limit fees on my credit cards, sure I am able to make some payments here and there but the way these people steal money is worst than the devil. Let's take a look (at about 11.5%/12 per month):

VISA1:$42.55 +$20 overlimit fee =$62.55
VISA2:$14.85 +$15 overlimit fee =$59.85
VISA3:$46.96 +$20 overlimit fee =$66.96
All that is COMPOUND interest.
Student Loan: About $30 per month.

That's $219.36 PER MONTH (or $2632.32 a year) that I am pissing out, not funny at all.

So I was considering filing for Bankruptcy because else I will be spending the next 10 years of my life enslaving over paying ridiculous amounts of free money to these unimaginable bastards. My bank calls me the other day and tells me "Sir are you aware that you are over your limit? Is there a reason why you are over your limit?" Well YEAH, because of accumulating interests and because you keep on charging me overlimit fees that I am unable to catch up with. Bank rep:"But that fee is our legal right to take". Of course they have the law on their side. Mind you I never signed up for the overlimit fee, it only came as of effect sometime in 2004. They changed their policy over-night without me signing for it.