Go Back   The Finance Forums > Finance forums > Business Finance

Business Finance Discussions about business finance, such as accounts and accounting, business loans, taxes, and related business issues.

Old 11-10-2011, 10:55 AM

Default Starting a Business

My girlfriend is thinking about starting a wedding planning business, and I offered to help her out as much as I can getting started - as far as the business aspect goes. I'm no business expert, but I have some basic business knowledge. I'm a senior business major with a focus in economics and planning to start working on an MBA next fall. She doesn't have much business background, she was an assistant director at a daycare and she didn't go to college. She is smart and a quick learner though, had a 4.0 in high school.

With that said I have a couple questions:
I'm thinking she would want to set it up as either an S-Corp or LLC, but I'm not sure which one? I know there are a lot of variables to consider, but any advice would be helpful.

Any other advice for starting a business? I could be wrong, but I think this is something she could start without much capital. Another concern is whether she could do this part time while working her current job 40 hrs/wk. I have no doubt she could handle it, and could take calls before and after work and at lunch, and take care of most stuff on the weekends. I know this is very generic, and she's just now starting reading and researching about it. I just wanted to hear some input from some of you guys regarding the business/financial aspect.

Old Sponsors
Old 11-22-2012, 03:52 AM

Default Re: Starting a Business

In this climate of economy, its not that easy to start up a new business if you don't have adequate finance. Hence, make sure that you have a perfect business plan as well as have sources of funding to start up your business for better growth and profits.

Old 12-03-2012, 12:46 AM