Go Back   The Finance Forums > Finance forums > Credit Cards

Credit Cards Discuss credit cards - user experiences, credit card rates, and which companies offer the best credit card.

Old 10-15-2006, 02:24 PM

Default Credit Card offers coming out of the woodwork?

This just drives me nuts. I currantly don't have any major credit cards and don't want any. The last time I applied for a credit card I was denied do to bad credit. The thing that gets me is I just recently bought my first home and everytime I go to the mailbox there is another credit card company that wants me to sign up for their card. What do they think that because I have a house that I will now be able to afford to have a credit card? That I magically have become better at my finances. I am so glad that I have learned my lesson when it comes to credit cards or I might be enticed to accept one of them. But I know that I am not good with them so I just stay away and don't even put myself in the situation of getting in debt to credit card use.

Old Sponsors
Old 10-18-2006, 10:26 AM

Default Re: Credit Card offers coming out of the woodwork?

I've been getting more than the usual amount of offers lately, too. I suppose this time of year it's because they think people will apply for the card to do Christmas shopping. I'm expecting another onslaught of offers the first couple months of the new year when many struggle with paying off the holiday bills.

Old 10-26-2006, 12:40 PM

If you've bad credit it's tough to get mortgage loans if not impossible, and if you pass that hurdle the signal is your credit rating is good to apply for a credit card.

Old 10-30-2006, 08:09 AM

You can get loans and credit if you have a bad credit rating - the problem is, you get absolutely screwed for interest rates. Bad credit loans are actually one of the most profitable areas of finance, because

a) The lender wouldn't lend if they didn't think you would probably pay up