Go Back   The Finance Forums > Finance forums > Retirement

Retirement Saving for retirement - questions about pensions and pension schemes, 401k's, public and private company pensions, and other saving schemes.

Old 02-10-2009, 02:51 PM

Default College student starting IRA

I've been reading the forum, but have some questions. I am a college student that wants to start saving now. I started a small business last year. I don't make much money, but enough to save at least 1 or $2,000 a year. I have no interest in investing money in the stock market for the near future.

I think its time to start an IRA so that I have compounded a decent amount of interest down the road. My question is what company would you recomend fo starting my IRA? What interest rates are they offering if I don't touch the money until 65+?

Old Sponsors
Old 02-19-2009, 03:44 AM

Default Re: College student starting IRA

what is IRA?

Old 02-19-2009, 03:36 PM

Individual Retirement Account

Old 02-19-2009, 09:21 PM

What is a college studet worrying about retirement use your money for your education.

Old 02-19-2009, 10:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertD View Post
What is a college studet worrying about retirement use your money for your education.
I'm not "worried" about anything. I go to a state school that only costs $1500 a semester,most of which is covered by scholarships. I want to avoid paying income tax by throwing my money in to an IRA. I know nothing about IRAs, so I am asking here.

Old 02-20-2009, 05:35 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by forumdw View Post
I've been reading the forum, but have some questions. I am a college student that wants to start saving now. I started a small business last year. I don't make much money, but enough to save at least 1 or $2,000 a year. I have no interest in investing money in the stock market for the near future.